top of page
  • Writer's pictureWander woman

Lesson #4: Self Expression Wreaths

Updated: Dec 1, 2022


 

ABOUT THE LESSON:

For this lesson we were making wreaths that expressed each student's individuality or interests in some way on a pre-cut out cardboard wreath template. The students had things like hot glue guns, feathers, fabrics, yarn, drawing materials and various other decorative materials for their wreaths. All of us art teachers were walking around and assisting everyone with the hot glue guns and giving the students ideas of how they could decorate their wreaths.


 

WHAT WENT WELL:

This activity went really well over all and I think that it really helped to have all of the wreaths cut out of cardboard and ready to decorate because I think that may have been difficult to do for some of the students. I had noticed from when we did the mobiles that this really helped as well. This is relating to the constructivist theory and differentiated instruction because the lesson was tailored to the individual needs of the student to increase accessibility and thus increases the time the students had to work on their pieces. Everyone was also building on prior knowledge they had learned due to their familiarity of working with these mostly familiar materials. As soon as the lesson was explained the students were quick to get to the table with all the materials and seemed very excited to start decorating. By the end of the lesson everyone had a wreath decorated, made and ready to hang up and admire, even though everyone took their wreaths home. I think this shows that I clearly explained the lesson in a way that everyone was eager and ready to get started right away.


 

WHAT I LEARNED:

I think that we really learned the importance of circulating around and being available to help everyone with the hot glue guns since they get so hot and could potentially be a hazard to some. I also learned more about the students by all the different ways that they decorated their wreaths because they ended up being so different and expressive. This experience really showed me all the facets that teaching entails and all the thoughtful consideration required to the address even the smallest details. I think that while there is a lot to be learned from these art education classes, and some of the best insight and knowledge will come from these types of real life experiences. I am feeling good about my future as an art teacher and think that I will be able to help inspire many ideas in lots of young minds. This lesson went well and I am really happy that everyone really ended up enjoying it!

9 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page